IGNORED

Take a chance or play it safe?

Air Ready Auto

I have been turning wrenches on one thing or another for the last 20 years. Everything from lawn mowers to missile launchers (my job in the Navy.) My friend and I have the opportunity to buy out an auto shop. It's in a good location and the shop is fully furnished with just about everything we would need. The current owner is retiring and his family doesn't want it so he is willing to let it go to us for pennies on the dollar. My friend and I have taken the current shop we work for and turned it from the joke of the town into a respected shop. I know that between the two of us we could do well, or at least not sink. What I'm worried about is being the owner. I have a family with three young kids. I'm worried about taking the risk at this point in my life. Before you ask, I trust my friend so I'm not worried about him backstabbing me. I've always had the cushion of not being the owner and not having those headaches to deal with. Jut show up to work, do the best I can, and get my paycheck. I've always done well and excelled wherever I've applied myself. Where I am now there isn't much room for growth and I've been feeling stuck in a rut lately. I know I have the management skills as I advanced quickly in the Navy and ran two work centers as well as a duty section. I know I have the technical skills to do the job. I'm worried about the economy and what is going to happen after the election. I'm worried about providing for my family. I'm worried about passing up this opportunity... Any advice/words of wisdom/encouragement/things to consider would be greatly appreciated.

You sound like you already have a good handle on knowing what you will need, what to expect and some of the frustrations of being the boss. This is one of those things you may regret later if you don't do it as it may be a good opportunity.