IGNORED

Pay me now, or........

Captainkirk

....don't pay me at all.

I guess that's the thinking, anyway. I did some work for a local Venture owner (sad to say, a member on this forum, although I don't think he's ever posted here-he registered after I recommended the site to him) last summer. Let me start at the beginning. I am a professional mechanic for a living (not motorcycles) who also happens to be be a bike owner, rider and mechanic. I decided to open a little side biz working on bikes to earn a little cash on the side (mostly to support my bike hobby!) and invested in a Handy Lift and a lot of tools for my home shop. I took on a job on this guy's Venture with a whole laundry list of problems to fix. He dropped off the bike around the first of June last year with a $50.00 deposit for parts & whatnot. He knew up front I charged $40.00/hr, and as I worked off the problems I informed him as to what had been done, and what was left. He kept adding on things to fix as we went along. At the end of the first week I'd already used up the deposit money on fluids, parts, etc, and I called him up and informed him that I'd need more money if there were any more parts needed. I mentioned that the labor bill was starting to "get up there" (it was about $400.00 at that point) but he brushed it off and laughed...."I'm not worried about it" were his exact words.... Now I can see why. I carried on with the work, paring it down to a wiring nightmare issue somebody else had Frankensteined together, and an intermittant CLASS system problem that went from not working at all, to working most of the time. In the end, the bill was around $800.00. I had kept in touch via emails after the bill hit the $500.00 mark with no negative responses. About the third week of June he called saying he needed the bike for a weekend jaunt and wanted to pick it up Friday; he'd bring a check. OK, fine. But I wasn't going to be home; I was going to a car show. He asked if I'd leave the bike outside.