IGNORED

Dogs are STUPID !

Guest johnnyf.hero

Guest johnnyf.hero

Probably not a new brilliant revelation for anyone, but here's my story:

Yesterday after work I took my 84 Venture Standard out for a short ride on some back roads to unwind a bit. Heading down a road I was exploring I hear a couple of dogs start barking. No big deal, I think.

Then out of the corner of my left eye I see this big Weimeraner running towards me. I assumed (bad idea to assume, you know) that he would stop at the edge of the street and keep barking, or maybe even turn and run parallel to the bike until he got tired (I was going maybe 25-30 mph at the time). But no, this big dumb animal has the mindset of a center linebacker on a pursuit angle for an open-field tackle and runs straight into the side of my bike!

Now I am no expert in what to do in this kind of situation. I didn't swerve to the right (away from the approaching dog) as there was a ditch and no shoulder, nor did I swerve to the left (towards the dog), nor did I stop suddenly when I saw him approaching (as I had no way of knowing if he would try to use any of my limbs for a chew toy). So I just kept her steady and tried to hold my line and WHAM! 900 pounds of man and machine impact 100 pounds of dog with corresponding momentum.

Then I bring the bike to a stop and turn on the hazards, and watch as my left side luggage box goes sliding down the road past me (finished side down of course, just like buttered toast I guess). I don't know if I forgot to lock it when I last put it on (83-85 luggage is detachable, you know) or if the dog hit it so hard that it just popped off. Either way, the impact was sufficient to bend the luggage guard on the left side back a full 2 inches.