IGNORED

Newbie Here. Just picked up a 89 VR 1300 and having some issues

Hi there,

I recently purchased a beautiful VR for next to nothing with 33K on the ODO. It had been sitting for awhile due to it needing a starter clutch, (sounded like crushing rocks), which I have had experience in replacing so, no big deal. Once I replaced the SC I then had to replace the battery. I then drained and replaced the old gas as well as added some Sea Foam. With that I turned the key, pulled the choke, hit the start button, and she fired right up. There were cheers all around!!! Here comes my issue and I'm sure it is very common; It idles great with full choke. I can even give it some throttle and it will rev slightly before wanting to die. I know this all leads to cracking the carbs open and cleaning out the gunk. When looking into the carbs, they don't look like a bit of fun to me. So, has anyone had any luck in getting the carbs to clear themselves without having to break into them? I understand that this is probably a long shot but, I thought it would not hurt to ask. I do have many years wrenching on various types of bikes but I have to be honest, the carburetor configuration on this particular machine is a little intimidating.

Any help would be appreciated,

Thanks!

I had the same issue with an '83VR that had sat for 3 years out in the weather. I ran a whole can of Sea Foam in a full tank of fresh gas and let it idle for a couple of hours. Maybe burp the throttle every once in a while... At first it ran sorta crappy but little by little it started running smoother. Ran it around the block a few times, sync'd the carbs and she was awesome.... Took it for a 50mi run and then sold it 'cause I already had one.... :-)

Just had another thought. Check the diaphrams for holes. They are easy to get to underneath the side covers on each carb. If they leak your not going to get fuel to the motor under acceleration...

http://cast-aways.com/CONDORPICS/DOUBLEVRs1.jpg