IGNORED

'Supersport' motorcyclists have highest death rate

SilvrT

That is an interesting article. I would be curious to see the rates per mile driven too. The touring class is 6.5 deaths per 10,000 riders compared to 5.7 for cruisers. I have 5 bucks that says if you looked at accidents or deaths per 10,000 miles driven, touring bikes would be the lowest. I think we are just more aware of our surroundings because, I think, we ride a lot more.

http://www.personal-injury.com/practice_areas/Motorcycle_Accident_.asp

Your post got me searching for other data. I'm trying to find an answer to my question on my previous reply. I find this article interesting. Some highlights (to me anyway)...

11. Weather is not a factor in 98% of motorcycle accidents.

24. The motorcycle riders involved in accidents are essentially without training; 92% were self-taught or learned from family or friends. Motorcycle rider training experience reduces accident involvement and is related to reduced injuries in the event of accidents.

32. Large displacement motorcycles are underrepresented in accidents but they are associated with higher injury severity when involved in accidents.

34. Motorcycles equipped with fairings and windshields are underrepresented in accidents, most likely because of the contribution to conspicuity and the association with more experienced and trained riders.

Randy in PA

That is an interesting article. I would be curious to see the rates per mile driven too. The touring class is 6.5 deaths per 10,000 riders compared to 5.7 for cruisers. I have 5 bucks that says if you looked at accidents or deaths per 10,000 miles driven, touring bikes would be the lowest. I think we are just more aware of our surroundings because, I think, we ride a lot more.

I agree with that!

I'm wondering specifically what bikes are in "Touring class" and "Cruisers". Improper classification would affect those numbers.