My 99 has been a jewel for the last 5 years I've owned it. However I recently went a whole 6 weeks without running it(I know,thats inexcusable for some who lives in Florida). Now I have a problem with a rough idle(sounds like Harley) and stalling. Runs fine however under power.

I assume I've got gunk/crap in the idle circuit of the carbs.My dealer suggested Ring Free in the tank. I put some in and I'm gonna run the tank out this Sunday and see what happens.Anyone else ever had this problem? BTW I've been an auto mechanic for 35 years and have always HATED working on Japaneese carbs--very small jets and passages and overly complicated.

Mikey - BUT you can do it! I am not a mechanic by profession - just a home mechanic - and I have torn into 2 RSV Mikuni 4-pack carbs 3 times in the past six weeks since I got my 2 RSV 6 weeks ago. And I have to do it again on 3 carbs this month to sell 1 bike, sell 1 carb set & keep 1 for my own 01 RSV. Tedious but a must do!

seafoam , it works great down here , i run a full can in a 1/2 tank on gas , it is just as good as ringfree and a lot cheaper , you can get it at any auto parts store . we get a little bit off water in our gas down here and when you let your bike sits to long the water settles to the bottom of you carb bowls , if you can , drain your bowls and than use the seafoam .

You say the bike was running fine until you stoped riding for awhile.

You have been riding it for 5 years..............Vacuim leak comes to mind here for me. You may have some Vac. hoses that have cracked or have gotten lose over a preoid of time.

Kurt

Mikey,

I see the seafoam guys are already at it. Your a mechanic, and I'm mechanical.

Taking the carbs off and apart, cleaning them is NO BIG DEAL!

Just do it and get it over with. When you are done and it's running great, you won't hesitate to do it again.

I've done it and wouldn't bat an eye at doing it again.

Good Luck,

Steve