IGNORED

Question for LEOs

frankd

I've got a couple of driving pet peeves----I'd like any LEOs reading to tell me exactly how the law about burned out headlight, tailight and brake light reads. You see a lot of cars driving around with burned out brake lights. Usually it's only one, but the other day I was behind a car that had both side brake lights out and one of the lamps in the center brake light also out. Only 1 bulb in the center light was on. How come they never get pulled over?? Heck, a loooooooong time ago when I was a young driver, I got stopped for a burned out license plate light. What happened??

I've got a couple of driving pet peeves----I'd like any LEOs reading to tell me exactly how the law about burned out headlight, tailight and brake light reads. You see a lot of cars driving around with burned out brake lights. Usually it's only one, but the other day I was behind a car that had both side brake lights out and one of the lamps in the center brake light also out. Only 1 bulb in the center light was on. How come they never get pulled over?? Heck, a loooooooong time ago when I was a young driver, I got stopped for a burned out license plate light. What happened??

I won't quote the law since you want it exact, and I do not have my IVC in front of me and you are just as capable of doing a search on google for the Illinois vehicle code on properly functioning lighting and signaling equipment. Granted if I was at home I would simply reach over and grab my handy-dandy code book, since this is one of those that is bookmarked for convenient use (that is before it got memorized).