I burned my clutch this weekend.

I was riding on a highway and we were close to Terre Haute IN. We were actually heading into Terre Haute for breakfast. So I was slowing down for the exit ramp. Went to downshift and nothing. Looked down and I lost my shifter bolt. Approached the stop light and came to a complete stop in 5th gear. Light turned green. Revved the motor to get the bike going. I figured if I could get it going, then the the motor will eventually catch up from the increased speed. Well it never did. I got it going, but I actually got slower and slower to where it didn't move at all. Went through all the gears and nothing (someone moved the shifter by hand). Dumb mistake I know (at least now I know. So no, I didn't think this would happen by revving the motor like that. This is the 2nd bike I have ever owned).

One of 2 things happened. I am not a mechanic so my terminology might not be correct. One of the guys I was with thought when I lost the shifter bolt and the shifter came off its' pivot point (or whatever you call it), it lowered a gear (not sure if the term is correct) just enough to start tearing up the clutch fibers and when I was at the stop light revving up the bike, getting the oil hot enough to burn out the clutch (in essence finishing what was already started). The other thought was that I started and finished it when I was at the stop light and when I got the bike going.