IGNORED

Oil Filter Comparisons... Hey I.m no Engineer

Hey, I'm not an Engineer... But I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.

I have seen many oil filter comparisons on here, but never for these three specific filters at the same time. The filters shown here are the Yamaha 5GH-13440-00 factory installed oil filter as it came with my 2012 RSV, the Yamaha 5GH-13440-30 which my dealer tells me is the most current filter and the one that I used for my 600 mile oil change about 2 months ago, and a Purolator L14612 oil filter which seems to “fit” and is something I am considering to use as a filter on my bike instead of the Yamaha Filters. If these filters have been previously compared here, please accept my apologies for not finding them.

eoilfilterslayout.jpg eoilfilter2.jpg

The Yamaha 5GH-13440-00 oil filter:

Is made in Japan, has a “?fiber?” mono-bloc filter element with no pressure differential valve, no Spring of any kind, and a silicone anti-drainback valve. I believe that this filter element is more porous than not, just to flow oil. I also believe that it flows the most oil right at the –V’s- in the filter element which are only 1 mm away from the inner core of the filter. Thereby not filtering the oil very much. But, I believe over time that this filters efficiency will increase as the pores clog up and or the oil turns to sludge. If this filter ever did clog up a little over many many thousands of miles, your engine would have no last ditch attempt to get oil by the opening of the pressure differential valve, since this filter does not have one, and your engine would become oil starved. Best to get this filter off at the 600 mile oil change as recommended.

e5gh1344000top2.jpg e5gh1344000layout2.jpg

e5gh1344000layout1.jpg esidefactoilfilter.jpg

ebottomfactoilfilter.jpg 5gh1344000assembled.jpg