IGNORED

2nd Gear Fix Question

Guest Scottimuss

Guest Scottimuss

First a real thamk you to all the replies to the posts and the general helping attitude here... you guys all rock!!!!!!!

ok now to the point... i am an auto mechanic but bikes are confusing sometimes, with a harley i can almost get to any thing quick but not so on my venture....

we've determined that the engine rattle i have is the 2nd gear, ok now heres the question... id be able to do this with full tools at a little shop with a harley/honda certified mechanic (old lady's padre) with lift..

but he's unsure about this one, never worked on yams before..

i tried to d/l the manual in pdf from here but it wont let me so...

what has to be done to change out 2nd gear?

how long? anything weird to expect? what am i going to break first and how much or wheres a good place to get a new set of gears?

is there a trap door in the bottom?

i dont take things to shops when i own tools!!!!!:cool10:

im up for it but not sure what to expect... the bike is my car so if its a day or 2 job then ill go for it other wise it will have to wait...

Hey Scott...

The quick answer and I'm thinking in the long run the best one is to advise you to buy a repair manual... :whistling::whistling:

I've owned a manual for every bike I had in the last 20 years... There are several manuals out there for under $25 that will tell mechanically inclined folks how to do most things.... Do a Google or Yahoo search for the year model service manual for your bike..

Believe me it's money well spent!!!!! :smile5::smile5::smile5:

Guest Scottimuss

ok i found a section that explains it in the tech library

so anything else i might need to expect when doing this would be appreciated..

First a real thamk you to all the replies to the posts and the general helping attitude here... you guys all rock!!!!!!!

what has to be done to change out 2nd gear?