IGNORED

Stebel Horn Relay Question...

Skid

My question is the two wires going to the old horn. Should they both show 12 volts at all times? I checked them with a light and both has 12 volts with the key on. And is this the two wires that goes to number 85 and 86 on the relay?

Aslo I'm curious of where everyone placed their relays at....

One should show +12V. The other should be grounded when you press the horn button. HOWEVER, if you still have the other horn connected they'll both show +12V unless you are blowing the horn. If both horns are unplugged only 1 should show +12V.

You can get that relay at RadioShack. Tell them you need a 275-0001.

Thanks Carl. I just learned that there are two horns on the Second Gen. Remember I'm new to being a Second Gen owner so take it easy on me. :confused24:

OK do I just disconnect the front horn? And I got a relay with the horn.

Thanks Carl. I just learned that there are two horns on the Second Gen. Remember I'm new to being a Second Gen owner so take it easy on me. :confused24:

OK do I just disconnect the front horn? And I got a relay with the horn.

I just left the front horn connected, you wont hear it when you hit the stebil:yikes: I wire tied the relay under the rite side cover on the battery box. I had it off hooking up the horn and it fit there pretty nice. Craig

One should show +12V. The other should be grounded when you press the horn button. HOWEVER, if you still have the other horn connected they'll both show +12V unless you are blowing the horn.

So what he is saying is if you bend down measure it while someone else pushes the horn button one will show +12V and one will show 0V. And a week later you will be able to hear again.!!:rotf:

But will I need to temporarily disconnect the front horn to determine which wire is the positive and which is ground at the stebel horn?

Nope, I didnt. I just followed the guide for wiring up the relay.

Pink horn wire to post 85

brown horn wire to post 86