IGNORED

2004 Venture runs poor and vibrates esp in 4th and 5th

I bought a 2004 Venture that had sat for 6 months and carbs were plugged. Guy I bought it from told me he started it on ether a few times but was done with the bike and wanted it gone. Mileage was 13,200.

Im a mechanic but regretfully didn't have time to clean the carbs so I ended up paying a local shop to clean them and they changed the air filters. Since getting it back it doesn't seem like it runs right in 4th and 5th gear. Feels like a vibration and like I'm hitting a strong headwind or like the cylinders are fighting each other. Power not great either, especially in 4th & 5th gear. I'm assuming it's a dead cylinder?

Read many posts including those talking about these engines need to rev; they have enough power they can run on 3 cylinders, 4th and 5th are overdrive, etc. Plus, I've had a couple of these a few years back and don't recall them running this way.

Ran a tank of seafoam, then checked spark on all 4 cylinders (visually strong spark and pulled each plug wire which killed each cylinder). All but 1 plug looked good. Left front plug looked gas fouled but still had good spark.

Drained tank and put fresh premium gas, fuel filter & fuel lines and new petcock. Also replaced plugs and rechecked shops work. Found 2 carb/intake boots and all plugs real loose. Tightened everything (poor shop work which causes me to question what they did to my carbs?) I also synced the carbs. 

Put 150 miles on it and seemed better at start yet shortly thereafter ran the same as before. 

I just pulled the plugs to do a compression test and now see all plugs running rich and looking into the plug hole I see heavy carbon buildup on top of the pistons. Will do my compression test tomorrow, change plugs again and run full can of seafoam thru a full tank of regular as I also read its not good to run premium then recheck my plugs again.