IGNORED

Rosella T6 ... still a choice?

Just asking in case something has changed. I’m real anal about this, hate to ruin the clutch.

Every year I loose sleep over this, like its my first time..

If it were not for folks telling you, "Use T6", would you?

Is there any thing printed on that bottle that lends itself to specific motorcycle use vs the numerous things printed on "motorcycle oil" bottles?

A CK4/CK+ diesel oil would/should have more resistance to shear than a non-diesel oil which is good for your motorcycle transmission. Does your transmission snick off gears nicely on T6? I thought mine did till I tried other "motorcycle specific" oils and now my bike shifts very nicely indeed.

Rotella T6 no longer carries an API spark ignition engine designation due to emission regulations on additives. These additives have gotten lower in quantity as the API levels have gone up. Rotella is not even trying for the gasoline powered engine market with T6. The best oil for your motorcycle is one designated as API SH to API SL. Politics has pulled all the good stuff out of the oil that our bikes need at the API SN level. Emission regulations let manufacturers add the good stuff back in if they rate the oil lower on the API scale, like API SH. And... motorcycle specific oils start their ratings about the SH level.

JASO RATINGS:

Well, Jaso ratings are un-needed on oils in the API SH to API SJ range because there were no "energy conserving" oils that contained added "moly" or "slip" additives during that time period. Castrol 10W-40 API SJ would do you just fine back then. Today, Castrol 10W-40 still containes no clutch destroying "slip" or "energy conserving" additives but I would probably not run it in a motorcycle because it is so low in zinc and phosphorus as shown by its API SN rating.