IGNORED

Ethanol Fuel issues!!

Just watched Motoring 2012 on TSN and they were talking about Ethanol fuel in carburated engines. Ethanol causes deterioration of rubber carb parts. Any ideas as to which gas stations sell regular gas with no ethanol in Canada??

Learned something new today!!:cool10:

I have been running the 10% ethanol crap gas in my 1st gen for the last 5 years, And since the bike was local, I assume that the PO did also. My carbs have not yet needed a rebuild.

I do add Seafoam regularly because it has oil as one of its ingredients which helps the carbs out.

Once you get outside of the ethanol mandated area here, there are some stations that carry ethanol free in the premium gas.

I have no idea whats available in Canada.

sta-bil has a new formula for the ethanol gas if you let it set up for anytime. i added the regular sta-bil to mine in 09 when i had surgery and after 5 month it wouldn't crank, when i broke down the carbs, they had a lot of white jelly looking gunk and real fine white sand look stuff in them. first time i've ever seen anything like it and i always run sea foam or techron thru them regularly.

Guest scarylarry
sta-bil has a new formula for the ethanol gas if you let it set up for anytime. i added the regular sta-bil to mine in 09 when i had surgery and after 5 month it wouldn't crank, when i broke down the carbs, they had a lot of white jelly looking gunk and real fine white sand look stuff in them. first time i've ever seen anything like it and i always run sea foam or techron thru them regularly.

What I saw was a green sta-bil and was for marine but will work in any engine just marines motors are more subject to damage is what I was told...

It is possible that ethanol affects rubber, and Venture carbs have more rubber than most. Most simply have the butterfly shaft seals, but we also have the jetblock bungs.