IGNORED

Drive Shaft With Busted Teeth

Started to put my bike back together today and got a little surprise. I had not bothered to clean the drive shaft or differential when I removed it several weeks ago because I didn’t expect anything to be wrong with them after only 12,000 miles with no apparent symtoms. Cleaned the drive shaft with brake cleaner, scrubbed it good with scotch-brite, hit it with brake cleaner again, and blew it off with the air gun. Got out the magnifying glass and found it to be a piece of junk. I have some experience in metallurgy and expected to see a wear pattern on the teeth, not cracks, chips, and uneven wear. When I removed the differential drain plug to flush it out with new fluid I found it covered with shavings. The gears in the differential look good. I got the bike last year with a few thousand miles on it and put an additional 7,000 on it. I suspect this 9 year old bike has never had any maintenance done before I picked it up – regardless what the last owner said.

Has anybody had this experience or seen a drive shaft with this kind of wear?

(see attached pictures)

In my opinion only.....I feel that most of those marks on the teeth are a normal wear patteren for the drive shafts of all Ventures including the metal chips found on the drain plug.

I have seen it many times on ventures that I have worked on.

In the pics, I did not notice any broken teeth, but I will go back and revist each photo.

The wear patteren appeared to be excessive in depth on some of the teeth, but that excessive wear may have been from the lack of grease as you so mentioned it as the lack of normal maintenance.

That is what happens when splines are not lubricated with a molybdenum disulfide paste with at least 60% moly.

When you get your new shaft and the cup that it goes into, as it will be worn also, lubricate with either Honda Moly60 paste, or Krytox gpl 214 grease.

I recommend re-lubing every time the rear tire is off of the bike.