IGNORED

Helmet locked up?

footsie

I see posts where riders talk about locking their helmet to the bike, or in the trunk.

I have been riding for 36 years, and my luck my run out tomorrow, but I have put my helmet on the lock before, stuck it in the trunk, but most of the time I just set it up on the seat. So far I have never had a helmet stolen or messed with in any way.

Has anyone ever had their helmet stolen from your bike.

Gregg

I've never had mine stolen but a friend of mine was coming home from a trip and had his helmet on the seat and his bag with this clothes straped on the back. He went in a restaurant to eat and when he came back his helmet and bag was gone. He was in Georgia and was close to home so he called the state patrol and told them what happened and he said they gave him a permit to ride home without a helmet. If I'm not going to be away from my bike to long or can see it from where I'm at I don't lock it. But otherwise I do lock it.

Greg

I am the same, only been riding about 12 years, but seldom lock my helmets to or in the bike.

About the only time I do is during the major bike events here in Daytona, only because you get so many non-biker folks out, that they do not respect that unspoken code of respect between bikers that says , "do not touch my bike", and you never know what they will do.

I really don't think anyone would steal my helmet, but I'm not going to take a chance of having to ride home without one. Mine is always locked up in the trunk of the bike. Remember that just because you're paranoid that doesn't mean that everyone is not out to get you.

I normally clip the strap and hook my helmet over the right mirror then put my shades and gloves in. And sometimes I lock it up. It just depends.

It's time for a new one so I wouldn't be TOO upset if it went missing other than the fact someone stole from me. In that case it would be a very good thing if I never caught anyone with it.