IGNORED

What would you do different in cycle wreck?

dharnie

What would you do different in cycle wreck?

My boss called to check up on me to see how I was coming along. I told him that since my lay-down 4 weeks ago, I have had plenty of time to think & watch cycle mishaps on "you tube", watch safety equipment demos and read up on latest safety gear. He asked me, "What would you have done different?" . . . and I told him.

But I am interested to know, did you learn anything from your mishap and "What would you have done different?" . . . if you have had a lay-down, motorcycle mishap, accident, wreck.

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The only wreck I have had was showing off when I was a kid..(17 Years old). I can name plenty of "Close Calls" but was always aware that anything can happen. I drive for a living and my thing is I never expect ANYONE to stop at stop signs,red lights etc. I am always watching traffic from the sideroads and always ready for them to just pull out in front of me. I sometimes get aggressive in curves but I make sure I know the road and consequences if I get too confident. In short I ride very defensively. In my professional career Ive seen people do the dumbest things to try and save a minute that in the end cost them or a loved one there life. Sometimes it just happens though and nothing can be done about it.

In the city I ride like everyone is trying to kill me...seems that they are and I've never done anything to warrant that!

Fingers riding on the front brake in the city...constantly aware of whats going on...stay out of blind spots and always leave an escape route for evasive actions.

Highway....if lots of trees close to road...fingers on the brake ready for critter crossing....aware of surroundings again.