IGNORED

RSV down while on vacation in Black Hills..uggghhh

My 2006 RSV has always fired right up & run like a champ.

5 days ago I returned from 100 mile ride where it ran as normal. 50 miles in I filled up with gas & it continued running fine the rest of the way.

2 days later when I loaded into toy hauler for vacation, it started hard & I had to keep the throttle on or it would die. Weird but didn't think anything of it...I should have...

I unloaded in the Black Hills & it started hard again. I had to stay on the throttle or it would die. As soon as I started riding I could tell something was wrong. It had much less power than normal but I was able to get on highway & get it to 60mph, but it was missing & sounded like crap. Got back to camp & felt all 4 exhaust pipes. The right rear one was warm, but not nearly as hot as the others...so I changed that plug...didn't make any difference.

While it was barely idling, I noticed a fuel smell & found fuel shooting out of some kind of overflow hose under the lower right front cowling. That hose appears to go back up in between the front 2 carbs.

What is that hose called? So when I call the Yamaha dealer I can give them some good info. To make matters worse, we're camped in area with no cell service, so have to run into town to look things up!

Any idea what's going on? Is a float stuck or something hosed up in the carbs?

img3.jpg

I had this same thing happen a couple of times on my 2007 RSV. Pretty sure it is a stuck float or a piece of crap between needle and seat.

What I did to clear it was take a long screwdriver and tap on inside of carbs. You will have to work on opposite side of carbs as overflow hose crosses. Take your screwdriver or other long tool and insert it on same side as leaking overflow tube. Run tool to other side of carbs and tap on both carbs. Do this while it is running.