IGNORED

1996 Royal Star making weird engine noise!

Hi Everyone, this is my first time on this site and forum, I hope someone more knowledgeable than me can help. So I had my 1996 Royal Star 1300 V-Twin completely gone over last year and tuned up, ready for the riding season. It performed very well. I am the third owner of this fantastic bike and have never had any real bad issues with it since I bought it in 2008. I rode it up until November, 2019 and then winterized it with gas stabilizer and kept it in my garage until earlier this week.

When I went out to start it the battery was dead (five years old) so I bought another battery and went out for a ride. While I was riding it didn't sound quite right to my ear; was making a rattling, weird sound halfway into the ride. It seemed to be losing power as I came up to stops and intersections and had to keep throttling it to keep it from dying. When I finally got it home the sound was louder and it smelled terrible. I checked all the liquids again, fuel, oil and antifreeze, everything was fine. I am baffled as to what could cause this problem just from sitting in my garage all winter, it was a mild winter here in central Indiana. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Steve Weaver

Hi Everyone, this is my first time on this site and forum, I hope someone more knowledgeable than me can help. So I had my 1996 Royal Star 1300 V-Twin completely gone over last year and tuned up, ready for the riding season. It performed very well. I am the third owner of this fantastic bike and have never had any real bad issues with it since I bought it in 2008. I rode it up until November, 2019 and then winterized it with gas stabilizer and kept it in my garage until earlier this week.