IGNORED

newbie here - questions about model number, brakes pads, and seats

cwtart

Hello All,

I just purchased a 2008 Royal Star Venture - looks almost new with 21,000 miles - very, very happy with this bike. It will complement my other bike, a 2018 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster. The Venture is for my wife to have a good place to sit. My Triumph is a great bike but definitely not a long-haul bike.

Question 1: I purchased from a dealer who got this bike from another dealer so I don't know any of the maintenance history of the bike. I want to replace the front and rear brake pads and want to use top-end pads - I need suggestions for the brake pads.

Question 2: Having no history of the bike, I do not know if I have a Royal Star Venture or a Royal Star Venture S. How can I tell?

Question 3: The dealer key tag says this is a XVZ13TFXR model but I cannot find any other reference to this. How do I tell the actual exact model? Doing a VIN search was inconclusive.

Question 4: I have a Corbin seat on my Triumph and am thinking about a custom seat for the Venture - Corbin, Mustang, or other? Any recommendations?

Question 5: The only thing not near-perfect on the bike is the windshield - it is pretty foggy and scratched. I ordered an F4 Custom windshield, 19.5-inch wide with OEM vent. Does anyone have any experience with F4 Custom windshields on their Venture?

Question 6: Other than the brake pads, what else should I be looking at for maintenance on this bike? It came with a new rear tire and a very good front tire so the rubber is good. The dealer changed the oil and gave the bike a go-over but what else should I check?

Thanks for any information and thanks for this great forum - I look forward to having my Royal Star Venture for many years of great use.

Basic maintenance...

Check coolant (test). Should be replaced every 3 years

Clutch and brake fluids - check colour - if "off", change

Rear wheel gear oil