IGNORED

Technical and slow speed maneuvering

So buying my new to me 07 RSV has put me in a new world of riding. I have been riding for nearly 10 years now and I own a 06 vstar classic and a 15 fj09. Both bikes are fairly easy to ride as far as riding styles go. My vstar is extremely low so the center of gravity makes maneuvering pretty easy. The fj09 is flickable and sometimes too maneuverable. Now with my RSV, it's a much bigger, heavier bike and I want to learn how to handle it.

What are some good exercises I can do to learn my bike and its limitations? I usually just play around in a parking lot but with this bike it's so much bigger that if I screw up I just can't stick my foot out and correct or stop things from going south. Anybody have pointers or advice for a new RSV owner to help make handling these big girls easier? I am probably going to lower the front end this weekend to start but then I need to learn techniques.

I know this is probably the wrong subforum to post this but I'm afraid if I post this to any other sub it wont get seen. Plus in a way this is tech talk... just a different kind of tech.

First off, WELCOME!

Getting a copy of the "Ride Like a Pro" DVD will show you a lot of great info on handling the big bikes.

As for your practice in the parking lot, get some garden hose and split it and use it to wrap the crash bars to avoid scratches when it tips. Typically when an RSV tips it will go about 45° and stop at the crash bars with no other damage. BUT the RSV is known to have weak crash bars that will bend if you tip it. Carbon_One makes a bolt on stiffener so the crash bars will not bend when you drop it.

These bikes are known to be top heavy, it does not have to tip very far before you will not stop it with one leg.

Welcome to the nuthouse!

As Jeff said, get a copy of ride like a pro. What Jerry does with a big bike is outstanding to watch.