IGNORED

Need Barons Lowering Kit Installation Help.....

Hello, I am planning on installing the Barons Lowering kit (BA-7530-00) barons.jpgon my 2000 Venture. I'm not a mechanic but have worked a lot on my bike (ie. replacing the clutch, tires, etc.), from YouTube videos, etc. The instructions from Barons are terrible. I even called them and they basically said what you see is what you get and couldn't help me. I'm a "visual" person. If I can see pics/video of the install then there's no problem with me doing the installation. Does anyone have any pics or video of this install. I cant find anything on the internet concerning this for a Venture. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Hey Steve, (and Steve A)

And,,, I'm not a mechanic either. But I did manage to look busy when a mechanic friend installed one on my RSV.

Obviously jack it up. He tied the front down in his trailer chock then jacked under the engine to raise the rear. Else if you got a MC jack.

Pulled the saddle bags. Pulled the mufflers (right for sure, probably left also). Pulled the caliper and the clamp bracket on the brake line, and hang it from the swingarm or frame with a wire (coat hanger). And he did have to remove the axle because it goes through the mount. See Pic.

Don't think he actually pulled the wheel. (Maybe you can get away with leaving the caliper on the rotor and just rotate the tire to line it up to the Barons brace(???).

Put the bracket on the axle, push the axle through and can tighten it back.

To be honest, I don't remember at what point he mounted the caliper to the Barons brace. You will figure that out.

His hardest part was moving the caliper down where it needs to go and putting the brake line clamp back on the swing arm took some work to get the new bend angle on the brake line and get the clamp mounted in the hole in the swing arm. But you can see, he did.