IGNORED

2007 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture

Howdy folks, brand new here but I've been lurking and reading for a while. I just sold my Vmax yesterday and I'm torn between buying an FJR and a 2007 Royal Star Midnight Venture with approximately 40K miles. I've noted the potential issues that these bikes have with whine and rear shocks and was wondering if someone could give me a quick synopsis of what else I might have to check out on this bike. Probably won't be going to see it until mid-week. Oh yeah, and I'm 5'8" 155lbs. Can someone of my stature handle a bike of this magnitude? I've been riding for over 25 years but this would be by far the heaviest bike I'll have ever owned. Mostly concerned about how it it handles backing out of a parking spot, seat height etc. Is reverse an available add-on?

Try to get the service records from the PO. Has the maintenance been kept up? Condition of tires and brakes? Year of battery? Other should pipe in ! I am 5.11 and the seat is just right for me, but beware these are top heavy. You can get a lowering kit (check to see if it has one) or get the seat reformed to lower the seating position. Heavy bike to pull and push and no reverse available.

They are a little top heavy and low speed maneuvering takes some getting used to...

As a former Midnight Venture owner who's 5'10" and 150lbs I never did get "used to" that top heaviness at low speeds and it was even worse for me when riding 2-up (which was most of the time). I changed the front tire to a 130 and installed the leveling links ... that helped a lot but not enough. After 3 years I decided the only resolve was to change to a different bike so I bought an '03 Wing. Night and day difference. Now I'm riding a Victory CCT ... same thing. Extremely easy to handle at any speed.

Not meaning to discourage you on your purchase ... just stating the facts from my perspective. Other than that, the RSMV is a great motorcycle.