IGNORED

Exhaust

hairman

This is my first time posting on here. Exhaust question- is louder better or not? I have almost been ran out of the road before because of someone in a car not hearing or seeing my bike. I have noticed when riding in my truck that if a motorcycle with loud exhaust is beside of me then I can hear it before seeing it. If you change exhaust do you have to have the carb. rejetted? Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Hairman

It seems there is at least 100 different answers to this question.

Myself I like some noise, Part of the fun of a motorcycle for me is to be seen and heard!

I live in Colorado. I put on the BUB sleepers. I love the sound, I did NOT do anything to the carbs and the bike runs great, no back fire at all. I did close the air injection system. Some here don't think thats a good idea because of the polution issue, I personally don't think it makes enough difference to matter. Not everyone agrees.

Anyway, I think all about what you like. Loud or quiet! GIVE ME SOME NOISE!

Gene

Hairman, I've always thought that the "Loud Pipes Save Lives" deal is a bunch of horse-pucky. Sure it's loud as heck behind your bike but other than getting rear ended it's not going to do much for your safety.

Of course, I think the sound of the V-4 opened up with Barons Nasty boys sounds cool as heck. They are on my short list of add-ons for the bike.

This is my first time posting on here. Exhaust question- is louder better or not? I have almost been ran out of the road before because of someone in a car not hearing or seeing my bike. I have noticed when riding in my truck that if a motorcycle with loud exhaust is beside of me then I can hear it before seeing it. If you change exhaust do you have to have the carb. rejetted? Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Hairman