VentureRider.Org Revzilla.com  

Home Venture History Classifieds Links VRAwards VRPhotos VRChat VRStore Donate
Go Back   VentureRider.Org > Tech Talk > First Generation Venture Tech Talk

User's Login
User Name
Password
Remember Me?
Mini Stats
Members 12,201 Entries 0
Members Entries
Threads 50,089 Reviews 0
Threads Reviews
Posts 595,681 Polls 44
Posts Polls
Content 0 Files 0
Content Files
Links 64 Ads 0
Links Ads
More...
  #1  
Old 04-09-2012, 05:12 PM
Dave Rogge Dave Rogge is offline
1984 Venture Royale
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Find Dave Rogge on Google Maps! Grand Junction, CO
Default 83 front brake switch

Hi everyone
New guy here. I have an '83 Venture Royale with factory cruise control. I need a new front brake light switch. The one I received from Yamaha has only two wires, while the existing one on the bike has 4 wires, and runs through a small block (resistor or capacitor?) before plugging into a four gang block in the headlight shell. The Yamaha dealer I spoke with couldn't find any reference to the different switch, or a part number for it. Anyone had this same problem??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2012, 06:16 PM
bongobobny's Avatar
bongobobny bongobobny is offline
'84 VR, '09 Hannigan RSV
Supporting Member


 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Find bongobobny on Google Maps! Arcade, NY
Default

Yes, there are different switches depending on whether you have cruise or not. The second set of contacts on the 4 wire switch is to tell the cruise control controller that the brakes have been applied and to turn off the cruise control. Only the Royale model had the cruise, and the '83 I think was an option. You can try '84 on up for the proper switch. I had an extra but gave it away a couple of months ago...
__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bongobobny For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 04-09-2012, 08:49 PM
dingy's Avatar
dingy dingy is offline
83 1st Gen, 03 RSV Hybrid
dingy has a Profile Picture
Supporting Member


 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Find dingy on Google Maps! Mansfield, Ohio
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Rogge View Post
Hi everyone
New guy here. I have an '83 Venture Royale with factory cruise control. I need a new front brake light switch. The one I received from Yamaha has only two wires, while the existing one on the bike has 4 wires, and runs through a small block (resistor or capacitor?) before plugging into a four gang block in the headlight shell. The Yamaha dealer I spoke with couldn't find any reference to the different switch, or a part number for it. Anyone had this same problem??
The way you have described the switch, it sounds like an 88-89 one. They put a capacitor/choke in the ones for those 2 years in an attempt to reduce radio noise.

The rear brake also has a capacitor/choke, but the clutch does not.

Cut of schematic attached.

Gary
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 88-89 choke capacitor.jpg (58.3 KB, 7 views)
__________________
Venture Maximized
VMax


Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dingy For This Useful Post:
  #4  
Old 04-09-2012, 11:00 PM
KIC's Avatar
KIC KIC is offline
87 VR, 89 VR
KIC has a Profile Picture
Supporting Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Find KIC on Google Maps! Tucson, where we keep the ice in the freezer.
Default

I should have 2 83 parts bikes in a couple of days once I get back from travel. If I have what you need I'll get it to you if you haven't already found one.

Let me know.

Bill
__________________
I know the voices aren't real... But they do have some really great ideas !

The problem isn't the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Capt Jack Sparrow




Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:16 PM
Dave Rogge Dave Rogge is offline
1984 Venture Royale
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Find Dave Rogge on Google Maps! Grand Junction, CO
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bongobobny View Post
Yes, there are different switches depending on whether you have cruise or not. The second set of contacts on the 4 wire switch is to tell the cruise control controller that the brakes have been applied and to turn off the cruise control. Only the Royale model had the cruise, and the '83 I think was an option. You can try '84 on up for the proper switch. I had an extra but gave it away a couple of months ago...
Thanks for your help! It appears that my switch is from an '89 model like you said.
Dave Rogge
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Front brake light switch coltrain First Generation Venture Tech Talk 11 09-09-2012 07:44 AM
Front brake lever switch tufftom4 First Generation Venture Tech Talk 9 08-11-2012 01:24 AM
Front brake switch ricky lopckhart General Tech Talk 3 12-30-2011 01:36 PM
Front Brake Light Switch help .... sgn First Generation Venture Tech Talk 5 06-29-2011 03:11 PM
Front brake switch RoyalStarRider Royal Star and Royal Star Tour Deluxe Tech Talk 10 09-18-2010 09:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 VentureRider.org