IGNORED

What is the stock handle bar height on the 2006 RSTD?

Hey guys,

I am trying to determine my options for the handle bars on the new to me 2006 RSTD.

I have been riding a Kawasaki Vulcan for the last eight years and the handle bar height was much lower. It is difficult adjusting to the taller bars on this RSTD....probably 4" or so taller.

I am wondering if what is on my bike is the factory install or if someone has changed it. I think I would like to lower the handles....how difficult is that?

Thanks

Hello Phil: I am not sure that there is a standard height on handle bars. It is not difficult to adjust your bars. If I remember correctly. Remove your quick detach windshield. Cover your tank with a towel to protect it. Then remove the speedometer (3 bolts I think) I then either lay the speedometer off to the side or I may have unplugged it completely and set it aside. Simply loosen the bolts and adjust your bars to fit you. ( Having a second person to assist is helpful. I hope this helps...Mark

• 6 months later...

Let me re-ask the question: If you have a stock RSTD, what is your handlebar height to the center of the bar end weights?

I put Flanders bars on and am curious as to the difference to where mine are set and stock bars.

Just so you know, my Flanders bars height to the center of the bar end weights is 36 1/2" as we speak.

I have stock bars, and yours look like mine. I am guessing yours are stock, it's hard to tell from pics.

I actually rotated my bars up a bit, I felt they were too low.

I would like bars with a little more pull back, but not sure what I can get away with...don't want to change cables out.