IGNORED

Newbie Question

Guest Shaggy Dog

Guest Shaggy Dog

I'm not new to motorcycles but i'm new to the Venture Royale. I just bought an 83 with a little damage, my problem is that I don't the difference between a VXZ and a VXE :8:. My bike was listed as a VXE, it needs a side cover and I',ve found one for a VXZ. Don't laugh but for all I know VXE could have been a miss print. Anyway I need to know so I can bid on the cover if it will fit. Please help! thanks

Shaggy

Perservere to endure

Yeah, the only difference on 83-84 and most 85s models was a few gadgets on the Royals vs. Standards. There was an 85 1/2 that fixed a 2nd gear problem and changed the trunk. Other than that it was the same too. In 86 through 93 there were some more changes but a lot of stuff still interchanges with them as well.

Good luck!

Yeah, the only difference on 83-84 and most 85s models was a few gadgets on the Royals vs. Standards. There was an 85 1/2 that fixed a 2nd gear problem and changed the trunk. Other than that it was the same too. In 86 through 93 there were some more changes but a lot of stuff still interchanges with them as well.

Good luck!

There is a difference between the early side covers and the later '83's. The early sides had a different attachment at the bottom that fit over a rubber post on the strut. The later models from late 83 to 93 had the tab and pull strap. Hope this helps.... Make sure you get the style you need.

On the VXE issue the original selling dealer probably wrote the Z as a european zed with the line thru the middle and the DMV pisked it up as an E.

Guest Shaggy Dog

I'm hoping that the cover will fit. I bought the bike off e-bay and kinda figured the owner was not that familiar with it either. I went a head and bid on a left side cover for it I'm sure it will probably fit, if I get it. thanks for the info.

I'm sure this won't be the last :icon_smile_question I have, so hope you don't mind..