IGNORED

Lost electrical

Came from a ride today, all good. Was checking wires to hook up some extra lights. All of a sudden all power shut down. I checked main fuse and ignition fuse. Both good. Battery good. Don't know where else to look.

Any help is appreciated.

labill

When you say to check for power at the box, what do you mean and how do I do that?

If the switch is bad do you know any places to purchase outside of Yamaha?

Sorry for all the questions but I am not an expert. Know just enough to get in trouble. Just ordered one of the ignition switch relays too.

Thanks,

labill

Depending on how handy you are if the contacts are burned, they can be cleaned up and switch still work IF you reduce the load on the switch. The switch is kind of a weak link in the electrical distribution. I have a fix for it if that turns out to be your issue. I make a plug and play relay that makes the heavy load by pass the switch by using a 30-40 amp relay.

I just ordered the relay and hope it's not too late. The switch has never given me problems. After checking all the fuses I pulled the battery and will have it checked tomorrow. I hope that's it.

If not then I will have to go the route to remove it and see if it can be cleaned. I am a novice at this si I have my fingers crossed.

Thanks for the help.

labill

When you say to check for power at the box, what do you mean and how do I do that?

If the switch is bad do you know any places to purchase outside of Yamaha?

Sorry for all the questions but I am not an expert. Know just enough to get in trouble. Just ordered one of the ignition switch relays too.

Thanks,

labill