IGNORED

New Member Needs Help! Fuel just POURING - LOTS of Fuel!

To All:

First, yes I'm a newbie here, but I'm going to first give a shout out to Mr. Dano for his help and a few texts to me. And YES I just paid! Best $12 anywhere!

So I landed this 89 VR for $500 (I'm unemployed, no bike, take what you can get and she's a beautiful bike!) Owner told me about some of the issues. So I found out starter clutch was shot after finding out the primary fuse was melted due to him trying to jump the bike to get it started. Starter clutch was cracked (oh dang what fun that's been getting that done but its REPLACED). But for a note for anyone doing the dreaded flywheel (not my first yamaha) I got the upgraded bolts like everyone said, put my electric impact on it, waited a few minutes, impact it again and OFF it popped! So finally that part is FIXED.

So here's the issue I'm dealing with. The bike will not crank (tries to so I'm going to assume electrics are just fine from all I'm seeing). But, when you try to crank fuel just POURS out of a hose and lands on top of that single spring on the rear. I found that it's coming out what appears to be the end of a hose (there are three of them running together from looking from the fuel pump side of the bike over the plastic shield over the motor that I can see). You try to crank the bike and fuel pump kicks and then oh heck does the fuel just come OUT of that hose.

Here are things that I've observed and points to help see if we can narrow this down

1. Fuel pump does work. I'm not 100% if it's working right but it will pump to pressure and stop. However if the line is off (I was going to pump the fuel out to change the filter) and it will only pump and then stop and won't restart unless the bike is turned off and back on (recycle).

2. Fuel appears to be clear AFTER I run some thru it. It appeared dirty at first, but the lines are also very dirty as well.