IGNORED

Fuel Problem?

Hello and thank you for the welcome.

I have never done this before, this is the first group or forum I have ever joined.

I'm not the best with technology as I'm now 58 and worked construction all my life so not a lot of computers.

I have a 2008 royal star tour deluxe that I have added a hopped fairing and a super trunk III and last fall it was like it ran out of gas I was going down the road and boom it quit after about an hour it started up and ran good, I put a new fuel filter and thought it was good, then it quit again, so I ordered and put a new fuel pump in, and now it is spring out again and I made it about 2 miles and it quit again.

I have gone through the fuel lines completely and new air filters, I have installed a new pickup coil, and it quit yet again.

I'm trying to fix my bike so I can ride it, I'm now disabled so I can't work and I don't have the money to just take it in to a shop.

I'm hoping to get a direction or a place to look next.

Sincerely JJ

Hey John, welcome to the forum. :canada:I have a 2009 RSTD, nice bike! Just thinking out loud here... have you checked your battery condition, leads all tight, fully charged etc?

Reason I ask is I had a similar problem with my Kawasaki, out for a ride, just quit, after some time it could be started again, but would quit again.

On the Kawasaki it wasn't the battery but the stator that had 3 coils burned out, so battery wasn't getting charged properly. I replaced the stator, voltage rectifier/ regulator & put a new battery in as it was getting old. No problems since.

May be worth checking your charging circuits. Good luck